Domaine de Marie church
It’s situated on a windy hill at 1 Ngo Quyen St, Ward 6, Dalat, about 1 km southwest far from the city center.
The church was initially constructed in 1930 and was completed in 1943. The wife of Jean Decoux, the Indochinese general governor called upon Catholics to donate to the church construction.
Covering an area of 12 ha, the church is unique thanks to the combined architecture of France and Vietnam’s Central Highlands. Its roofs were designed according to Nha Rong (communal house), a typical kind of stilt house in Central Highlands, Viet Nam. The façade of the building is identical to an isosceles triangle adorned with a plenty of arch-shaped windows and a cross on the top. The walls were painted pink, making the church more solemn and majestic. In 1944, the Indochinese governor’s wife gave the church a 3m-high statue of Virgin Mary which was designed by Jonchère, a French architect in 1943. Unfortunately, it was not long after the church establishment when she had a serious accident and passed away. She was then buried in the backyard of the church as her last wish. The building is also surrounded by a beautiful garden full of different kinds of flower.
The church was home to not only Roman Catholic nuns but also orphans and underprivileged children, even one-year-old toddlers. Especially, it’s the place where many local girls have been raised and trained to become embroiderers, helping them to have a better future. Inside the church, there’s a small shop selling souvenir and clothes made from wool as well as embroidered paintings at reasonable prices.